An Ode to Tyrion Lannister

 tyrion

I love Game of Thrones. I am not a fan of Breaking Bad. So I might come across slightly biased when I say this, but Peter Dinklage got robbed at the Emmys last night. 

Game of Thrones is a wonderful show for a thousand reasons. The effects, costumes and makeup are stunning. The story is compelling (many thanks, Mr. Martin) and crazy things happen in every single episode. The theme song is catchy. And the casting is flawless. Even characters that I hate/d—The Hound and Jaime Lannister, in particular—are portrayed by the perfect actors for their part.

I will admit that I have not read any of George RR Martin’s books. I usually shun a movie or series until I’ve read its original text, but I make an exception for GoT because I love the show too darn much to ruin its surprises by reading the books. The books will always be there, but the experience of watching a new episode live with my parents is not something I can relive.

Now, on the subject of Tyrion Lannister. He is the man. End of story. Liking a character on this show is a bit of a burden, because nobody is ever safe. But I openly root for Tyrion every single time he’s on screen.

As a character, he’s a fiction junkie’s dream. He is a fully-rounded character with ambition, an array of emotion, and the ability to both succeed and fail. He has bad days and good ones. He cares about people but can rule more ruthlessly than anyone has any right to. But most importantly, in a show where the tongue is often mightier than the sword (though not always—and sometimes they join forces) Tyrion Lannister has balls. He does what nobody else, least of all his cowardly nephew, has the stomach to do. That’s one of the best things that a character can be: a guy that actually does things instead of whining about them.

We’re fortunate to have such a talented actor as Peter Dinklage play such an awesome role. I was skeptical of the choice, at first. I knew the actor from Elf (he’s the South Pole elf) and I expected a character actor. A short guy playing the role of a short guy who is only important because he’s, well, short.

I was wrong. Tyrion Lannister was not written as a small part, per se, but the writers of the show focused on Tyrion more and more because of Dinklage’s performance. And I’m grateful they did. His witty dialogue is a breath of fresh air in the heavy King’s Landing scenes. His physical acting is so convincing that I forget such a person has never existed. He is unforgettable, and not simply because he’s the short guy. It’s because he steals the spotlight in each of his scenes, even among an extremely talented cast.

Peter Dinklage only lost to the guy from Breaking Bad because one show is ending and the other is not.

I could write a book about how much I love this show, but my words could do it no justice. I’m going to spend the rest of my day watching clips and behind-the-scenes specials on YouTube. I suggest you do the same.

 Truth

Leave a Reply

