Let It Go, Joykillers

So, everyone – and I mean everyone with only a small exception – has seen Frozen, the triumphant return of the memorable Disney musical (2010’s Tangled was the first hint of light in the darkness; Frozen is the spectacular sunrise).  This is the spoiler alert for the ten people left in America that haven’t seen it.

This movie deserves every bit of the credit it gets. It’s genuinely funny (eg: “Hoo-hoo! Big summer blowout!” and every single thing Olaf says), the characters are unique and the songs, man – they knocked the music out of the park with this one. There’s a reason that Let it Go has been playing on radios and iPods non-stop for probably a month now. The other songs are great, don’t get me wrong, but Let it Go in particular not only defines the movie but may well define this generation of Disney, just as Circle of Life is the favorite song of my generation.

Unfortunately Frozen has some critics in the form of disgruntled college students. While studying a few nights ago at the library, I overheard a few boys – older boys, clearly science majors of some kind – bashing the movie for its lack of realism.

I ignored them and returned to my work until I heard something about the trade status of Arendelle, the fictional kingdom depicted in the movie.  They said that the primary export of the kingdom wouldn’t hold any significant barter value, and Weselton would have no business trading with them. Other complaints were inaccurate depiction of hypothermia, ignorance of the laws of physics in reference to jumping across a cliff during the wolf-chase bit, and the presence of homosexuality in a Siberian-ish society ( I won’t go into any more detail on that one. It’ll just make you think too much).

You know what they failed to mention? The talking snowman. The ability to conjure an ice castle out of thin air. The ability of every character to sing and harmonize. The hallmarks of Disney movies. I know you’re thinking “come on, they were just joking”, but I don’t think so. After listening to them rag on this movie for probably half an hour, I decided they were at least half-serious. I never would have confronted them, but that doesn’t mean I wasn’t thinking about what I would say if I did. If I had five words to say to them and all of their similarly-minded uptight partners-in-crime, they would be “just let it go, joykillers!” (See what I did there? Double insult.)

Can we let any good thing exist without questioning it? This is a children’s movie that happened to be popular in other age groups. I don’t hear anyone questioning the validity of Spongebob, The Rainbow Fish, or Little Bear. As soon as something grows in popularity among a population with education, it falls under scrutiny. We don’t have to turn everything into a researched report, but there’s always someone that wants to ruin the magic for everyone else.

We love Disney movies for their ability to make us forget the world around us and transport us somewhere else – the very thought of the Magic Kingdom turns me into a giddy little kid. They specialize in making movies that are both child- and adult-friendly, so sometimes that means simplifying terrifying concepts like economics, death, and science. I’m worried that some sour scholars will come forward and ruin these movies, just as these kids were doing on Sunday night. In a time where we ruin everything with the internet, it’s more than possible, it’s likely. Don’t let them take magic away. Don’t think too hard. Just enjoy one of the most purely happy things left in this dark world: Disney movies.

 

 

Irrelevant side note: when this happened

Did anyone else think of this?

Because it’s exactly the same thing. Bonus points for Frozen for referencing (even if accidentally) my favorite childhood movie.

Photo credits go to the Pokemon wiki and the Disney wiki.

This post goes out to my little sister Sara, the Anna to my Elsa. Their relationship in the movie is exactly ours. Between the two of us, we could probably quote this entire movie, but she’s the expert. I hope I did it proud in your eyes, Sara. I love you!

6 Comments

  1. Some people are just so ridiculous. Have we really come to the point of picking a child’s movie to death over how realistic it is? Why, yes we have! I heard on the radio the other day that there was a preacher commanding his congregation to not let their daughters watch Frozen, because it could cause them to want to be lesbian. REALLY? It’s about sisters, and like you, I have that relationship with my youngest sister (who loves this movie and showed it to me a couple of weeks ago). Our children nowadays have nothing to look forward to. What happened to our world? There will never be such a thing as the childhood I remember having. It is so sad. It’s a cartoon, for children (and children at heart). At this rate, children will never allow themselves to dream or have an imagination.

    Like

    • Right you are. Children of this generation need something to hold on to when they pass into the “real world” of adulthood. We have absolutely no right to invade and destroy something so precious to kids — and so useful, at that! Think of the positive messages in this movie: the power of sibling relationships, the need to embrace one’s own powers and abilities, and the loveable imperfection of everyone around us (“So he’s a bit of a fixer-upper…”) Don’t those things matter, too? Don’t people like the preacher realize that?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

