One Night Closer

I don’t know who you are. I don’t know if I’ve met you yet, or if our paths have yet to cross. I don’t know your name, your age, your race, or your religion. I don’t know where you’ve been, where you are now, or where you’re going. I don’t know if you’re looking for me. I don’t even know if I’m looking for you.

But I do know that you’re out there.

Maybe we’ll meet in class. Maybe we’ll both be waiting for a late bus. For all I know, we could have already met; you may just be disguised as one of the fine young men I’ve already gotten to know in my short eighteen years.

I dream about you, but you keep changing. Sometimes you’re a reserved scholar. Sometimes you’re a talented musician. Sometimes you’re a dedicated soldier. I’ve had that whole “knight in shining armor” dream more than a few times (and I must say, you do a good job playing the part). There are traits you display more often than others, but you can’t seem to make up your mind and stay as one person.

Not that it matters. If we’re meant for one another, we’re meant as-is. Don’t change for me. The only thing that matters at the end of the day is that we support one another.

I’m warning you now: I’m not perfect. Not even close. I’ll try to be, but keep in mind that I’m a human being. I’ll stumble. I know that it’s a lot to ask, but I hope you’ll catch me when I do. I promise I’ll do the same for you .I know that you have your good days and your bad ones, just like I do. I know that you’ve made mistakes, and that you always will; with that said, I also know that you have triumphed and succeeded beyond my imagination, and that you will continue to shine.

I know that we breathe the same air, and we see the same sun rise and fall at some point during the day. I know that the same stars hang over our heads. I know that sometime in the next twenty-four hours, you’ll close your eyes and sleep. I can only hope that when you do, you’ll be safe, warm and undisturbed – heck, I hope your entire life is like that. But I wasn’t born yesterday. I know that life isn’t fun all the time, or even most of the time. I wish it were, and I wish you didn’t have to suffer. One day, we’ll go through it together.

It’s not that I’m not anxious to know who you are, but you can take your time. I’m only eighteen. I’m not ready to settle down just yet. Besides, there are lots of nice and good-looking boys on this planet, and I haven’t had a whole lot of time with them. You’ve got some competition – I’m sure I do too. We’re both going to meet some special people, and we should absolutely take advantage of our relationships with them. Let’s just make sure that we recognize our significance to one another when the time comes; choosing the wrong person will result in a lot of pain for the both of us.

You’re on my mind a lot. There are days I think you’ll never come around. There are days I dearly wish you were by my side. But it helps to think about our future. I think of silly love songs, date nights, fights and compromises, Christmases and birthdays, a beautiful wedding, children, and as cheesy as it sounds, a happy ending. Sometimes, those thoughts are all that get me through the day. I know I have to take care of myself, because I hope to mean as much to you as you do to me. You’re already an incredibly big part of my life. I hope that’s not too much pressure.

Someday, eventually, a plan greater and far more complex than we can even imagine will shape the two of us into a perfect whole. It may be not be easy. It may not be immediate. But I know it will happen. I have faith in the human condition, in God, and in a girl’s favorite words: true love. In the meantime, take care of yourself. Eat your veggies, look both ways when crossing the street, and try not to get into too much trouble. You’re my hero, my someone, my friend, and my love. I want you to know that. It doesn’t matter that I don’t have your name. I don’t need it to know how much you mean to me.

Sleep well tonight. Each night that passes is just one night closer to the happiest moment of our lives.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

